Flint mobile food pantry visits adds to November’s fellowship meal tradition

Flint mobile food pantry visits adds to November’s fellowship meal tradition
Shares

Thanksgiving Day doesn’t have to be the only feast scheduled this month.

The Flint mobile food pantry is making its rounds through November, offering healthy, lead-mitigating groceries that can make up a nutritional, but filling, meal, even before the carving of turkey.

Sponsored by the Food Bank of Eastern Michigan in Flint and the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, the pantry will visit locations throughout the community. Grocery products rich in calcium, vitamin C and iron, including potatoes, cabbage and onions, will be made available to local residents, while supplies last. More than $300 million has been earmarked to support the ongoing monthly distribution effort to Flint’s households. Remaining November dates and sites for mobile pantry stops include:

  • Greater Holy Temple, 6702 North Dort Highway
    • Thursday, Nov. 8 at 10 a.m.
    • Thursday, Nov. 15 at 10 a.m.
    • Wednesday Nov. 21 at 7:30 a.m.
    • Thursday, Nov. 29 at 10 a.m.

 

  • Bethel United Methodist Church, 1309 Ballenger Highway
    • Monday, Nov. 5 at 10 a.m.
    • Monday, Nov. 12 at 10 a.m.
    • Monday, Nov. 19 at 10 a.m.
    • Monday, Nov. 26, at 10 a.m.

 

  • Asbury United Methodist Church, 1653 Davidson Road
    • Tuesday, Nov. 6 at 10 a.m.
    • Tuesday, Nov. 13 at 10 a.m.
    • Tuesday, Nov. 20 at 10 a.m.
    • Tuesday, Nov. 27 at 10 a.m.

 

  • Salem Lutheran Church, 2610 Martin Luther King Ave.
    • Wednesday, Nov. 7 at noon

 

  • The Bridge, 1114 University Ave.
    • Friday, Nov. 9 at 11 a.m.

 

  • Luke NEW Life Center, 3115 Lawndale
    • Friday, Nov. 16 at 10 a.m.

 

  • Hispanic Tech Center, 2101 Lewis St.
    • Wednesday, Nov. 14 at 10 a.m.

 

  • Hasselbring Senior Center, 1002 W. Home Ave.
    • Saturday, Nov. 24 at 10 a.m.

Members of the community may also get nutritional food at three Flint Help Center locations: Bethel United Methodist Church, 1309 North Ballenger Highway, from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Mondays; Asbury United Methodist Church, 1653 Davison Road, from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Tuesdays; and Greater Holy Temple, 6702 North Dort Highway, from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Thursdays.

For more information or to learn of changes in the schedule, visit the Food Bank website at www.FBEM.org and find the updated schedule on the Mobile Pantry Distribution page, or call 810-239-4441.

Shares

Comments

comments

You must be logged in to post a comment Login